Get Spanish Football News
·17 August 2025
CTA rule that Barcelona’s 2nd goal vs Mallorca shouldn’t have stood

In partnership with
Yahoo sportsGet Spanish Football News
·17 August 2025
The The Technical Committee of Referees (CTA) in Spain have ruled that referee Munuera Montero should have stopped play prior to Barcelona netting their 2nd of the evening against Mallorca on Saturday.
Barcelona are of course fresh off kicking the defence of their La Liga title into gear at Son Moix.
When all was said and done, the Blaugrana made short work of their hosts on the evening, to the tune of a 3-0 triumph.
The result, however, did not come without its controversies along the way.
Prior to a pair of Mallorca players being sent off during the first-half, Barca notched a goal which sparked fury amongst the Bermellones’ ranks.
After Antonio Raíllo went to ground after being struck in the head by the ball, play was surprisingly allowed to continue, culminating in Ferran Torres directing home a brilliant finish.
And as alluded to above, with the dust having now settled on the clash, confirmation has arrived that Munuera Montero, the referee in charge of the fixture, handled the incident poorly.
As per the reliable Archivo VAR on ‘X’:
‘The CTA rules in favor of Real Mallorca: Munuera Montero should have stopped the play.
‘The new Committee considers that the Andalusian referee had the time and opportunity to halt the play, especially with the ball in the air.
‘Furthermore, they believe that the fact of bringing the whistle to his mouth for several seconds without blowing it could have confused the players.’
Conor Laird – GSFN