Arsenal's best ever XI ... the third forward 💥


Phil Costa

Article image: Arsenal's best ever XI ... the third forward 💥

With football postponed for the moment, we’ve been thinking about who gets in Arsenal’s all-time XI.

Today we’re choosing the centre forward.

Here are the nominees …

3rd – Ian Wright

Every manager in the world would have wanted a player and personality like Ian Wright in their side.

Arsenal were criticised for his record-breaking £2.5m arrival in 1991, but that decision was vindicated after Wright ended the season with 31 goals in all competitions – and a golden boot.

He was a unique striker who could score any type of goal, with any technique and any body part. It was no surprise he went on to become the club’s all-time highest goalscorer (179 goals) overtaking Cliff Bastin.

Wright made 288 appearances for the Gunners across seven seasons, winning a Premier League, European Cup Winners’ Cup and two FA Cup titles.

2nd – Dennis Bergkamp

When football transcends into art and performance, nobody could match Dennis Bergkamp in his prime.

Arsenal broke their transfer record (previously set by Wright) to sign the Dutchman in 1995 and was an instant hit, stunning fans with flicks, touches and vision they had rarely seen before.

Bergkamp had mastered his first touch, while also boasting outrageous technique and vision which essentially made him the perfect creative foil.

Despite not being an out-and-out centre forward, he scored 120 goals for Arsenal across 11 seasons, winning three Premier League and four FA Cup titles.

And the winner is … Thierry Henry

Where do you even start with Thierry Henry? Not only the best forward in Arsenal’s history, but their best ever player.

Signed as a mercurial winger from Juventus in 1999, Arsène Wenger worked his magic and started playing him centrally – the rest was history.

Henry ticked every box: speed, intelligence, technique, swagger and a mental resolve that demanded absolute perfection from each of his team-mates.

He overtook Ian Wright to become the club’s all-time record goalscorer (228 goals), and won two Premier League and two FA Cup titles before joining Barcelona in 2008.

Here’s how the team is looking so far …

GK: David Seaman
RB: Lee Dixon
CB: Martin Keown
CB: Tony Adams
LB: Ashley Cole
DM: Gilberto Silva
CM: Patrick Vieira
AM: Cesc Fabregas
RW: Freddie Ljungberg
LW: Robert Pires
ST: Thierry Henry

And there we have it! Arsenal’s official best ever XI.