🇩🇪 Wolfsburg win seventh consecutive DFB Pokal title 🏆 | OneFootball

Icon: OneFootball


Emily Wilson·30 May 2021

🇩🇪 Wolfsburg win seventh consecutive DFB Pokal title 🏆

Article image:🇩🇪 Wolfsburg win seventh consecutive DFB Pokal title 🏆

Ten-woman Wolfsburg won their seventh consecutive DFB Pokal title after beating Frankfurt 1-0 after extra time at the RheinEnergieStadion on Sunday.

Scorers: Pajor 118′

With a combined 16 titles between them, it was a matchup between two powerhouses in this year’s final.

In the absence of captain Alexandra Popp, Ewa Pajor and Fridolina Rolfö led Wolfburg’s attack and each saw early attempts go whiskers wide.

Around the half-hour mark, Frankfurt suffered a huge loss as captain Tanja Pawollek was substituted off through injury.

Wolfsburg continued to lunge forward with their opponents down a key player, but Frankfurt’s defence, led by goalkeeper Merle Frohms, stood strong.

After the break, the match had more energy but nothing could break the deadlock. Wolfsburg almost won it in the dying seconds but Rolfö’s chip was tipped off the woodwork by Frohms.

Disaster struck for Wolfsburg in extra-time as goalkeeper Almuth Schult was shown a straight red for a late tackle on Lara Prašnikar.

Yet despite being down to 10, Pajor scored with penalties looming to break Frankfurt hearts.