Valencia captain Soler: Fati told me he didn't think Gaya touched him | OneFootball

Valencia captain Soler: Fati told me he didn't think Gaya touched him

Logo: Tribal Football

Tribal Football

Valencia captain Carlos Soler insists Barcelona whiz Ansu Fati didn't believe he was fouled for a penalty earned on Sunday.

Barca were awarded a crucial penalty in their 3-1 win after Jose Gaya had fouled Fati.

In the post-match, Soler said: "The referee tells me that first he touches Ansu and then the ball, but Ansu Fati told me that it is very doubtful and that he does not know if it is a penalty or not.

"It is a situation that you have to go to see the VAR, which is what it is for, to help the referee. If he goes and sees that it is a penalty, well, but at least he goes, we do not understand it. He tells us that he will not see the penalty because he believes that it was Ansu Fati who was touched first, that he does not even need to see it.

"Seeing it a thousand times I have doubts, I don't know why he wouldn't see it."

Mentioned in this article
View publisher imprint