Sergio Busquets 'saved Barcelona' v Cadiz in stoppage-time with some quick thinking

Logo: GiveMeSport

GiveMeSport

The final few minutes of Barcelona's 0-0 draw with Cadiz were absolutely bonkers.

It all started with a mad dash upfield by centre-back Gerard Pique, who then played Memphis Depay through on goal.

However, the Dutchman couldn't finish off the relatively easy chance to snatch a win for Barcelona - who were playing with 10 men after Frenkie de Jong's 65th-minute red card.

Then two minutes or so later, it was Cadiz on the attack and the home side looked as if they were in with a chance of grabbing an incredibly late winner.

Sadly for them, their foray forward was brought to a halt by Sergio Busquets and this time, it wasn't one of the Spaniard's perfectly-timed tackles.

Instead, the seasoned veteran capitalised on an unexpected opportunity that forced the referee to step in and blow his whistle.

As Cadiz motored forward, a second ball was on the field of play just in front of Barcelona goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen, but the official didn't stop the passage of play at first.

So when the home side had the ball out wide and looked to cross it into the box, Busquets opted to kick the extra ball straight at the Cadiz player near the touchline.

It struck him on the leg, which saw the referee take action and halt proceedings.

Just to make matters worse, Cadiz actually scored from the cross that came milliseconds after Busquets' decisive strike of the extra ball.

We can safely say that we've never seen anything quite like that in a professional football game before.

Busquets was eventually booked by the referee for his actions and shortly after that, Barcelona manager Ronald Koeman joined De Jong in being sent off.

The Dutchmen will now both be absent for the team's La Liga match against Levante on the weekend.

It could mean we've seen Koeman in the Barcelona dugout at Camp Nou for the very last time, as the pressure on him is growing at a rapid rate.

Mentioned in this article
View publisher imprint