Nominees revealed for 'The Best 2018' award | OneFootball

Nominees revealed for 'The Best 2018' award

Logo: OneFootball


Dan Burke

FIFA has released the 10 names to be nominated for this year’s ‘The Best’ award.

Cristiano Ronaldo

Kevin de Bruyne

Antoine Griezmann

Eden Hazard

Harry Kane

Kylian Mbappé

Lionel Messi

Luka Modrić

Mohamed Salah

Raphaël Varane

This year, the usual 23-man shortlist has been reduced to just 10 players, as chosen by such legends of the game as Ronaldo, Didier Drogba, Kaka, Fabio Capello and Frank Lampard.

Voting will open on 24 July and the winner will be announced at a special event in London on 24 September.

‘The Best’ has only been running for two years and is FIFA’s answer to the Ballon d’Or, which is organised by France Football.

In each of the last two years, the award as been won by Cristiano Ronaldo, but the Portuguese will likely have some strong rivals for his crown this year.