Everything you need to know ahead of Fifa's The Best Awards 🏆


Dan Burke

Article image: Everything you need to know ahead of Fifa's The Best Awards 🏆

On Monday, Fifa will announce their winners of The Best Awards 2019.

We know, you can hardly contain your excitement. Neither can we.


The ceremony will take place at Milan’s Teatro alla Scala on Monday evening.


Proceedings are scheduled kick off at around 20:30 CEST, with Ruud Gullit and Italian TV host Ilaria D’Amico hosting proceedings.

What are the awards and who has been nominated?

Good question!

There are nine awards up for grabs.

The Best Fifa Men’s Player

  • Cristiano Ronaldo, Portugal/Juventus
  • Virgil van Dijk, Netherlands/Liverpool
  • Lionel Messi, Argentina/Barcelona

The Best Fifa Women’s Player

  • Lucy Bronze, England/Olympique Lyonnais Feminin
  • Alex Morgan, USA/Orlando Pride
  • Megan Rapinoe, USA/Reign FC

The Best Fifa Men’s Coach

  • Pep Guardiola, Manchester City
  • Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool
  • Mauricio Pochettino, Tottenham Hotspur

The Best Fifa Women’s Coach

  • Jill Ellis, USA national team
  • Phil Neville, England national team
  • Sarina Wiegman, Netherlands

The Best Fifa Men’s Goalkeeper

  • Alisson Becker, Brazil/Liverpool
  • Ederson, Brazil/Manchester City
  • Marc-André ter Stegen, Germany/Barcelona

The Best Fifa Women’s Goalkeeper

  • Christiane Endler, Chile/Paris Saint-Germain
  • Hedvig Lindahl, Sweden/Chelsea/VfL Wolfsburg
  • Sari van Veenendaal, Netherlands/Arsenal/Atlético Madrid

Fifa Puskás Award

  • Lionel Messi (Argentina): Real Betis v. FC Barcelona (La Liga, 17 March 2019)
  • Juan Fernando Quintero (Colombia): River Plate v. Racing Club (Superliga Argentina, 10 February 2019)
  • Daniel Zsori (Hungary): Debrecen FC v Ferencvaros TC (Hungarian First Division, 16 February 2019)

And who’s going to win?

You’ll have to wait until Monday evening to find out but for a bit of fun in the meantime, here are our predictions …

Men’s Player: Virgil van Dijk
Women’s Player: Megan Rapinoe
Men’s Coach: Jürgen Klopp
Women’s Coach: Jill Ellis
Men’s Goalkeeper: Alisson
Women’s Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler
Puskás Award: Lionel Messi

Ok, ready? Great!

We’ll be bringing you all the official award winners on Monday evening, so stay tuned.