Argentina announce final 28-man Copa AmĂ©rica squad đŸ‡ŠđŸ‡·

Logo: OneFootball


Blaise Bourgeois

Article image:

Late Thursday evening, Lionel Scaloni and Argentina announced their final 28-man squad for the upcoming Copa América tournament.

Lucas Ocampos and Juan Foyth were left out of Scaloni’s squad, which is surprising given that they have been regarded as important pieces in recent months.

Foyth notably was at fault for Miguel Borja’s last-gasp goal in Argentina’s 2-2 World Cup qualifying draw on Tuesday, which could lead many to believe that this could be punishment for his error.

Meanwhile, Ocampos faced a lot of competition in attack, and Scaloni ended up choosing players such as JoaquĂ­n Correa and NicolĂĄs GonzĂĄlez in his place.

Curiously, Julián Álvarez left to join Argentina’s Olympic squad, yet Lucas Alario was called up instead of allowing Ocampos to retain his spot on the squad.

Alario was omitted from Argentina’s recent World Cup qualifying squad as he was still recovering from an injury he suffered on 30 April with Bayer Leverkusen.

If that weren’t surprising enough, Scaloni’s decision to bring in four goalkeepers will certainly raise a few eyebrows, though it should really be a two-way battle between Franco Armani and Emi Martínez.

Argentina’s 28-man Copa AmĂ©rica squad

Goalkeepers: Franco Armani, Emiliano MartĂ­nez, AgustĂ­n MarchesĂ­n, Juan Musso

Defenders: Gonzalo Montiel, Nahuel Molina Lucero, Christian Romero, NicolĂĄs Otamendi, Lucas MartĂ­nez Quarta, GermĂĄn Pezzella, Lisandro Martinez, NicolĂĄs Tagliafico

Midfielders: Marcos Acuña, Rodrigo De Paul, Leandro Paredes, Giovani Lo Celso, Exequiel Palacios, Guido Rodríguez, Nicolås Domínguez, Alejandro Gómez

Forwards: Lionel Messi, Lautaro MartĂ­nez, NicolĂĄs GonzĂĄlez, Sergio AgĂŒero, Ángel Correa, Ángel Di MarĂ­a, JoaquĂ­n Correa, Lucas Alario