🌎 WCQ: Netherlands hit SIX, Germany secure qualification, Wales win | OneFootball

Icon: OneFootball


Phil Costa·11 October 2021

🌎 WCQ: Netherlands hit SIX, Germany secure qualification, Wales win

Article image:🌎 WCQ: Netherlands hit SIX, Germany secure qualification, Wales win

Happy Monday! We’re back with more World Cup qualifiers after France were crowned Nations League winners.

Here’s what went down …

Netherlands 6-0 Gibraltar

Scorers: Van Dijk 9′, Memphis 21′, 45+3′ (pen), Dumfries 48′, Danjuma 75′

The Netherlands were ahead after just nine minutes when Virgil Van Dijk rose highest to head home Memphis Depay’s pinpoint corner.

Memphis could have doubled their lead moments later but saw his penalty saved, before slotting home two minutes later after Davy Klaassen squared from close range.

The Barcelona forward would eventually get his double – scoring from the spot just before half time – with Denzel Dumfries making it four.

Arnaut Danjuma and Arnaut Danjuma completed the rout late on.

North Macedonia 0-4 Germany

Scorers: Havertz 50′, Werner 70′, 73′, Musiala 84′

In what was a tight first half, Joshua Kimmich had the best opening for Germany but his header was cleared off the line after two minutes.

The visitors would eventually make their breakthrough when Kai Havertz slotted home from close range after Thomas Müller squared unselfishly.

Timo Werner doubled their lead with a well-taken finish before curling home brilliantly for his second and Germany’s third.

Jamal Musiala added a fourth late on.

Estonia 0-1 Wales

Scorers: Moore 12′

Wales broke the deadlock after 12 minutes when a goalmouth scramble lead to Kieffer Moore poking home from close range.

Norway 2-0 Montenegro

Scorers: Elyounoussi 29′, 90+7

Norway opened the scoring when Mohamed Elyounoussi was left unmarked to head home from close range.

Elyounoussi then secured all three points in injury time with a curled finish from 20 yards.

Tomorrow’s fixtures …

  • England v Hungary
  • Portugal v Luxembourg
  • Denmark v Austria
  • Faroe Islands v Scotland