🦁 The OneFootball Premier League team of the season 2019/20

Logo: OneFootball


Phil Costa

Article image: 🦁 The OneFootball Premier League team of the season 2019/20

That’s all she wrote. The Premier League season is over and there won’t be any more top flight football until September.

But who were the standout performers in 2019/20 season? We’ve sat down and put them into a star-studded 4-3-3 formation.

Here’s who made the cut …

GK: Alisson Becker (Liverpool)

Ederson may have won the golden glove, but Alisson was an imperious figure between the sticks for Liverpool throughout.

He missed nine games through injury but still kept 13 clean sheets and maintained a 76% save percentage – the second highest in the division.

Runner up: Nick Pope (Burnley)

RB: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

Who needs central midfielders to contribute when your right back is providing 13 assists in one season?

Alexander-Arnold is everything you want a modern full back to be. He can cross, can shoot, can take free-kicks … and he’s only going to get better.

Runner up: Matt Doherty (Wolves)

CB: Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Van Dijk may not have quite made the same headlines this season as he did in 2019/20, but that doesn’t mean the Dutchman wasn’t colossal as usual.

He has normalised his brilliance and Liverpool would not be where they are without him.

Runner up: James Tarkowski (Burnley)

CB: Çağlar Söyüncü (Leicester)

Leicester made have tailed off badly post-lockdown but it was an excellent season on a personal level for Söyüncü.

Had he not been suspended for the final game of the season, the Foxes might just have secured Champions League football after all.

Runner up: Harry Maguire (Manchester United)

LB: Andy Robertson (Liverpool)

It’s simply not fair that Liverpool have got the two best left-backs in the world having spent barely anything on acquiring them.

‘Robbo’ continued his rapid rise this season and as well as being technically brilliant, the Scot’s heart and desire means he is the ideal Jürgen Klopp player.

Runner up: Lucas Digne (Everton)

CM: Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

His FWA Player of the Year award took some criticism, but Liverpool fans can tell you how important Henderson is to their success.

He sits at the base of midfield, presses well, bites into challenges and more importantly – their win percentage is 90% with him starting, compared to 56% without.

Runner up: Declan Rice (West Ham)

CM: Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

What more can you say about him? De Bruyne was comfortably the best Premier League player last season and could even be the most complete in Europe.

Scoring 13 goals from midfield is good enough, but adding 20 assists as well, equalling the record set by Thierry Henry in 2003? Brilliant.

Runner up: Mateo Kovačić

CM: Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

Bruno only joined the club in January, but his arrival was essentially the catalyst for Manchester United securing Champions League football.

He ended up scoring eight goals and assisting seven in 14 appearances – which is pretty ridiculous.

Runner up: Jack Grealish

RW: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Most people think Salah had a quiet season by his standards, and he did. Which proves how outrageous his standards really are.

The Egyptian directly contributed to 29 goals (19G, 10A) as Liverpool cruised their way to the title. That’s 35% of their total goals scored!

Runner up: Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

ST: Jamie Vardy (Leicester)

There were a few candidates for this position – but you can’t not include the striker who won the golden boot?

Vardy has shown no sign of slowing down despite heading into his latter years, and scoring 23 goals for a team that finished 5th is impressive.

Runner up: Danny Ings (Southampton)

LW: Sadio Mané (Liverpool)

We love Mané. Name us another forward who shows up high in every attacking, defensive and playmaking metric – you can’t because they don’t exist.

He is such a varied goal threat from screamers, to tap-ins, to quick passing interchanges and his improvement at Anfield deserves more credit.

Runner up: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)