The last 4 times Italian clubs lifted European silverware before Atalanta | OneFootball

The last 4 times Italian clubs lifted European silverware before Atalanta | OneFootball

In partnership with

Yahoo sports
Icon: Football Italia

Football Italia

·4 June 2024

The last 4 times Italian clubs lifted European silverware before Atalanta

Article image:The last 4 times Italian clubs lifted European silverware before Atalanta

Over the last two decades, Italian clubs have reached no fewer than nine European finals, however, inexplicably, they have only won three of them. Last season, the country had participants in all three continental finals but, unbelievably, lost all three. This year’s Serie A champions-elect Inter were beaten by a goal to nil by Manchester City in the Champions League, Jose Mourinho’s Roma lost to Sevilla on penalties in the Europa League and final Fiorentina were downed by a last-gasp Jarred Bowen winner for West Ham in the Conference League.

This season, the club has representatives in the latter stages of two of those three competitions once again, but only Atalanta managed to lift a piece of silverware outside domestic competitions. La Dea beat Bayer Leverkusen in a Europa League Final, while Fiorentina lost the second consecutive Conference League Final, this time against Greek side Olympiacos in a Final player in Athens.

OneFootball Videos

Atalanta’s Europa League win means Gian Piero Gasperini’s men will be facing Carlo Ancelotti’s Real Madrid in the UEFA Super Cup on August 14. Clearly, the Nerazzurri won’t be the favourite to lift the trophy, as confirmed by the popular Bovada betting site. Atalanta had never won a European trophy before, while Champions League winners Madrid could rely on new signing Kylian Mbappé, provided he’ll be fit enough after playing in the Euros with France earlier this summer.

Atalanta’s win also means Italian clubs have won two European trophies in the last three years. Before Roma in 2022, it had been 12 long years since an Italian team had lifted a European trophy. In the Champions League, it is 14 years since a Serie A side took the famous big-eared trophy. Likewise, Alberto Malesani’s Parma had won the UEFA Cup 25 years before Atalanta, even before the competition was newly named Europa League.

Roma – 2022 UEFA Europa Conference League

On a balmy evening in Tirana, Roma emerged triumphant in the inaugural Europa Conference League, capturing their first major European trophy since 1961 and Italy’s first since 2010. Under Jose Mourinho’s masterful tactics, the Giallorossi managed to secure a nervy 1-0 victory against Feyenoord to secure the crown. Nicolò Zaniolo scored the only goal of the game in the first half before a defensive masterclass kept their opponents at bay.

The following year, the capital city club went on to reach the Europa League final, marking back-to-back European showpieces for the club and it looked as though they would win that as well when Paulo Dybala gave them a first-half lead. However, tournament specialists Sevilla would find an equaliser in the second half to take the tie to a penalty shootout, where the Spaniards would keep their nerve and emerge victorious.

Inter – 2010 UEFA Champions League

The night of May 22, 2010, remains etched in the memories of Inter supporters as the night their beloved club completed a historic treble. Also under the guidance of The Special One, the Nerazzurri conquered Europe by lifting the UEFA Champions League, defeating Bayern Munich in a tightly contested affair at the Santiago Bernabeu. Argentinian striker Diego Milito emerged as the hero, scoring both goals in a performance that encapsulated his side’s campaign.

The victory was a bittersweet moment for the club as it marked the perfect end to an era, with many of the club’s ageing stars such as Javier Zanetti, Walter Samuel and Lucio all in the twilight years of their career. Mourinho would also be on his way following the full-time whistle, never returning to Milan and choosing to remain in Madrid to take over at Real.

Milan – 2007 UEFA Champions League

Two years after the heartbreak of Istanbul, where Milan squandered a three-goal lead against underdogs Liverpool in the 2005 UEFA Champions League final, the Rossoneri returned to the summit of European football. The two clubs would meet once again in Athens and this time around it was the Reds that were the favourites for glory. However, veteran striker Filippo Inzaghi had other ideas.

The former Juventus hitman netted a brace against the English side to secure his team the victory, Milan’s seventh European Cup, the second most in history. Under Carlo Ancelotti, the Rossoneri combined had the perfect blend of experience and individual talent, with a staunch backline consisting of Paolo Maldini and Alessandro Nesta providing the perfect protection for Brazilian maestro Kaka to strut his stuff. Their opponents threatened a herculean comeback once again when Dirk Kuyt made it 2-1 late on but this time, there was to be no heroics, and it was Milan who left the Greek capital as champions.

Milan – 2003 UEFA Champions League

Four years prior Milan were on top of the world once again. In 2003 they met Juventus in the first ever all-Italian final. The pair met at Old Trafford – home of Manchester United – and with the Bianconeri finishing 11 points clear of their rivals en route to winning Serie A, they were considered the favourites. Their team consisted of the likes of Alessandro Del Piero, David Trezeguet and Edgar Davids, while Milan had Andriy Shevchenko leading the line. Neither team could find the breakthrough after over two hours of action, taking the contest to a penalty shootout, where the Rossoneri would ultimately triumph.

View publisher imprint