Shaw claims referee didn't award Man Utd penalty against Chelsea to avoid 'a lot of talk'

Logo: Tribal Football

Tribal Football

Article image: https://image-service.onefootball.com/crop/face?h=810&image=https%3A%2F%2Fimages.tribalfootball.com%2Fdefault%2F0001%2F07%2F935436b2e2d0390f38b0c72be4e49bed44ac868d.jpeg&q=25&w=1080

Luke Shaw has claimed referee Stuart Attwell told Harry Maguire that Manchester United should have won a penalty against Chelsea.

Callum Hudson-Odoi appeared to handle the ball inside his own box after colliding with Mason Greenwood.

Attwell inspected the pitch-side monitor to review the incident but ultimately decided against awarding a penalty.

But Shaw has claimed United skipper Maguire was told by Attwell that the penalty should have been given.

"If it's not going to be a penalty, l don't think they needed to stop the game," he said to Sky Sports after the game.

"The ref even said to H [Harry Maguire] that if I say it is a pen then it is going to cause a lot of talk afterwards. H got told it was a penalty.

"I don't understand why the game is stopped. It's confusing with VAR.

"I'm not going to moan about it because l don't think either team did enough to win."