Roberto Alvarado replaces Alexis Vega on Mexico's Gold Cup roster | OneFootball

Icon: 90min


·21 June 2023

Roberto Alvarado replaces Alexis Vega on Mexico's Gold Cup roster

Article image:Roberto Alvarado replaces Alexis Vega on Mexico's Gold Cup roster

Chivas de Guadalajara player Roberto 'Piojo' Alvarado will join the Mexican national team's Gold Cup roster, replacing teammate Alexis Vega after he suffered a setback to a previous knee injury.

The winger originally picked up the knock in January during Chivas' 0-0 draw against Atletico San Luis, suddenly falling to the ground in pain before being taken off the field in a cart. He underwent a meniscectomy procedure immediately, forcing an eight-week spell on the sidelines.

OneFootball Videos

Though Vega returned to action in March, the injury continues to flare up after failing to heal properly.

"The Directorate of National Teams informs that Alexis Vega is out due to injury from the final call of the Mexican National Team that will participate in the Gold Cup. The player will report to his club to continue his rehabilitation process," confirmed the FMF.

'Piojo' Alvarado will now take his place as El Tri attempts to come back from a disastrous Nations League campaign during the 2023 Gold Cup. The Chivas figure originally made Mexico's 40-player roster for the June international window, featuring in the friendly against Cameroon on the 10th before being dropped for the CONCACAF tournaments.

But he's now back to reunite with newly appointed interim head coach Jaime Lozano after playing under him in the 2021 Tokyo Olympics, where Mexico won the bronze medal.

Here’s the full roster:


  • Guillermo Ochoa 
  • Luis Malagón 
  • José Antonio Rodríguez 


  • César Montes
  • Israel Reyes
  • Johan Vázquez
  • Víctor Guzmán
  • Julián Araujo
  • Jorge Sánchez
  • Jesús Gallardo
  • Gerardo Arteaga


  • Luis Romo
  • Edson Álvarez
  • Erick Sánchez
  • Luis Chávez
  • Carlos Rodríguez
  • Orbelín Pineda 
  • Sebastián Córdova


  • Henry Martín
  • Santiago Giménez
  • Ozziel Herrera
  • Uriel Antuna 
  • Roberto Alvarado
View publisher imprint