Premier League fixtures today - your guide to Saturday's games | OneFootball

Icon: 90min

90min

·9 December 2023

Premier League fixtures today - your guide to Saturday's games

Article image:Premier League fixtures today - your guide to Saturday's games

The Premier League has served up plenty of excitement over the past few months and we are set for more drama in Gameweek 16 with six fixtures to enjoy on Saturday.

Liverpool begin the day's action in the 12:30 GMT kick-off - much to Jurgen Klopp's disgust - and after four 15:00 kick-offs which include Manchester United's clash with Bournemouth, an incredibly exciting match will see league leaders Arsenal travel to face in-form Aston Villa.


OneFootball Videos


With four of the top six in action, here is all you need to know about the Premier League games taking place on Saturday.

Crystal Palace vs Liverpool

Liverpool did what was needed against Sheffield United / David Rogers/GettyImages

  • Location: London, England
  • Stadium: Selhurst Park
  • Date: Saturday 9 December
  • Kick-off: 12:30 GMT / 07:30 ET / 04:30 PT
  • Referee: Andy Madley
  • VAR: John Brooks

Liverpool visit Crystal Palace in the early kick-off knowing they can end the weekend at the top of the Premier League if results go their way.

The Reds are in good form and beat Sheffield United at Bramall Lane during the midweek matches. Given it was a night game away from home against a struggling side with a new manager, a 2-0 win will be more than acceptable to the fans.

A similar result at Palace would be welcome for Klopp's side and Roy Hodgson's outfit have hit a rotten patch of form. They will do very well to get anything against this Liverpool team, even at Selhurst Park.

Wolves vs Nottingham Forest

This could be it for Steve Cooper / Ritchie Sumpter/GettyImages

  • Location: Wolverhampton, England
  • Stadium: Molineux
  • Date: Saturday 9 December
  • Kick-off: 15:00 GMT / 10:00 ET / 07:00 PT
  • Referee: Sam Barrott
  • VAR: Chris Kavanagh

If you believe the word on the street, Steve Cooper has got one game to save his job as Nottingham Forest coach. The 5-0 defeat against Fulham seemed like the end of the road, as did his time spent in front of the away fans after the match.

He is still in the dugout for the visit of Wolves, but it will be an incredibly tough match. Gary O'Neil's Wanderers are picking up points at a steady rate and have a number of talented players.

Wolves have to be the favourites here, but the Forest squad could save their manager's job with a spirited showing at Molineux.

Brighton vs Burnley

18-year-old Jack Hinshelwood scored the winner for Brighton against Brentford / Mike Hewitt/GettyImages

These two sides are having very different seasons. Brighton are trying to stay in reach of the European spaces while Burnley desperately attempt to crawl away from the bottom three.

The Seagulls have been ravaged by injuries over the past few weeks which has led to a number of young players getting chances. That they have stayed within five points of the top four in such circumstances is impressive.

Points are few and far between for the Clarets and manager Vincent Kompany will know the Amex is not an easy place to go.

Sheffield United vs Brentford

Chris Wilder is back at Sheffield United / David Rogers/GettyImages

  • Location: Sheffield, England
  • Stadium: Bramall Lane
  • Date: Saturday 9 December
  • Kick-off: 15:00 GMT / 10:00 ET / 07:00 PT
  • Referee: Stuart Attwell
  • VAR: Rob Jones

It was hardly ideal for Chris Wilder's first game back in charge to be against title challengers Liverpool, so this is perhaps the real quiz.

Brentford may be knocking on the door of the top half but this is the sort of match Sheffield United must pick up points in if they are to climb off the foot of the table.

Even if the Blades can't manage a win, a clean sheet at home would provide something for Wilder to build on. However, if they are comprehensively beaten, things could get away from the returning coach very quickly with the fixtures coming thick and fast.

Manchester United vs Bournemouth

Scott McTominay netted twice against Chelsea / Clive Brunskill/GettyImages

  • Location: Manchester, England
  • Stadium: Old Trafford
  • Date: Saturday 9 December
  • Kick-off Time: 15:00 GMT / 10:00 ET / 07:00 PT
  • Referee: Peter Bankes
  • VAR: Paul Tierney

It feels ridiculous that this Man Utd team are somehow only three points behind Manchester City and level on points with Tottenham after 15 games, but that is the truth of the matter. Things can change quickly, however, so Erik ten Hag cannot afford any more slip-ups in matches like this.

Hosting Bournemouth should be a straightforward task for the Red Devils but the Cherries have found some decent form recently and are looking to create a healthy buffer between them and the relegation spots.

It could end up being quite a tense affair at Old Trafford, but one Man Utd remain favourites to win.

Aston Villa vs Arsenal

Leon Bailey will need to be marked closely by Arsenal / James Baylis - AMA/GettyImages

  • Location: Birmingham, England
  • Stadium: Villa Park
  • Date: Saturday 9 December
  • Kick-off Time: 17:30 GMT / 12:30 ET / 09:30 PT
  • Referee: Jarred Gillett
  • VAR: Michael Salisbury

Perhaps the biggest fixture of the weekend, Aston Villa will try to continue their remarkable home form by beating Arsenal on Saturday evening. That would be their 15th home win in a row in the Premier League, the fourth-longest run in history.

The Gunners won't make it easy for them, though, given they come into Gameweek 16 at the top of the league with every intention of staying there. Mikel Arteta's side need to secure as many points as possible while Man City attempt to overcome their recent dip in form.

This is a great one to get settled in front of the TV for on Saturday evening.

manual

View publisher imprint