🏆 Popp scores twice to send Germany into Euro 2022 final | OneFootball

🏆 Popp scores twice to send Germany into Euro 2022 final

Logo: OneFootball


Joel Sanderson-Murray

Germany captain Alexandra Popp was the hero after she scored twice to send her country into the Euro 2022 final, where they will face England at Wembley on Sunday.

Germany Women 2
France Women 1
Full time

Scorers: Popp 40′, 76′; Frohms (OG) 45′.

The Wolfsburg forward was the main source of attacking threat for her side, forcing a stunning save from Pauline Peyraud Magnin from a free-kick after 22 minutes before breaking the deadlock after a tight and tentative first half five minutes before the break.

Svenja Huth’s sublime cross landed in the middle of the box where Popp ran across her marker to power a volley home to send the German faithful into raptures.

It looked as if Martina Voss-Tecklenburg’s side were going to head into the break ahead before France stunned them by pulling level with the last kick of the half.

Kadidiatou Diani’s powerful effort from the edge of the box struck the post before rolling over the line after hitting the back of goalkeeper Merle Frohms, and so the French were level out of nothing.

Frohms had the chance to redeem herself with two stunning saves with her feet midway through the second half.

First, she kept out Wendie Renard’s close-range header from a corner before reacting to deny Diani’s low drive from a tight angle.

But the hero was always going to be the captain and she produced the decisive input 16 minutes from time.

A goalmouth scramble led to the ball ending up out wide where Jule Brand lofted it back into the box, and Popp leapt highest to power her header past Peyraud Magnin and book Germany’s place in the European Championships final for the ninth time.

Germany: Frohms; Gwinn, Hendrich, Hegering, Rauch; Magull (Dallmann 69′), Oberdorf, Däbritz (Lohmann 69′); Huth (Wassmuth 87′), Popp, Brand.

France: Peyraud Magnin; Périsset, Mbock Bathy, Renard, Karchaoui; Diani, Toeltti (Sarr 80′), Bilbault; Cascarino (Matéo 61′), Geyoro, Malard (Bacha 45′).