Marius Lode: I'm a player that looks to get forward | OneFootball

Marius Lode: I'm a player that looks to get forward

Logo: FC Schalke 04

FC Schalke 04

Marius Lode has been a Royal Blue for about a week now, with the Norwegian making his first appearance for S04 in the home game against Holstein Kiel. The 28-year-old centre-back faced the media and spoke about the reasons for making the move to Schalke, his style of play and his role models.

Marius Lode on…

…his debut at the VELTINS-Arena: It was nice to get a feel for what it’s like to play at the VELTINS-Arena. It’s a really huge, well-known stadium and it was a shame not to have fans because of the current Coronavirus situation. The750 supporters that were there created a good atmosphere, but of course we ideally want to be playing in a full stadium.

…the reasons for his move: Schalke is a big club and, because of its history and the players here now, I wanted to join and use my qualities to contribute and help to achieve the long-term goals of the club. It’s going to be different to playing in Norway – a new language and culture. I am here to play good football, show what I’ve got on the pitch and help the team to develop. My grandfather is from Wuppertal and some of my family speak German. I have always loved German football and I’m sure I would have regretted it one day had I not taken the chance to make the move here. My time at Bodø/Glimt was great and I’ll always have a connection with the club, but it’s time for something new now.

…his start at Schalke: It’s nice to have Andreas, another Norwegian, here as well. At the moment we’re both staying in a hotel, but I hope to find a place soon to unpack my bags and finally settle into Germany. The team and the coaching staff have made me feel really welcome and it has been easy to integrate into the group.

…his desire to learn the German language: I have already spoken to the club about a German teacher for me and Andreas as we want to learn the language as quickly as possible. I have learnt a few phrases over the last few days that I can use in everyday life. Today I went round asking people “Wie geht’s?” (How’s it going), but it was tricky when they answered me in German. (he laughs)

…his style of play: I’m someone who likes to be on the ball and looks to get forward. If I see a gap then I try to use it, either by dribbling into the space or finding a teammate. As a centre-back, I’d describe myself as having good technical ability, physicality and decent pace. At Bodø/Glimt, I played primarily on the left side of defence because we only had right-footers in the position. Therefore, I worked a lot on my left foot which before I had only used for standing. Now I can play long balls or into the spaces with my left. Because I like to drive into space, I would say that the left/right of the back three suits me better, but I can implement my strengths in any of the three positions.

…what he does in his time off: When I played for Bodø/Glimt, I did my masters in economics. In my free time I’m a very outgoing person and I like having something to do. That’s also the reason I decided to study. It was good for me to combine football and studying. I also like to get to know my surroundings.

…his role models: In my position, Daniel Agger was my role model. Overall it was Steven Gerrard, however, because I was a big Liverpool fan as a kid. Back then, my dad always said that Gerrard was my uncle. (he laughs)

Mentioned in this article

View publisher imprint