🏆 Flamengo win first Copa do Brasil since 2013 | OneFootball

Icon: OneFootball


Blaise Bourgeois·20 October 2022

🏆 Flamengo win first Copa do Brasil since 2013

Article image:🏆 Flamengo win first Copa do Brasil since 2013

Flamengo have the proverbial monkey off their back after defeating Corinthians in the 2022 Copa do Brasil final second leg 6-5 on penalties after the match finished 1-1 after 90 minutes (1-1 on aggregate).

The title gives Flamengo their first Copa do Brasil title since 2013 and their fourth Copa do Brasil overall.

Scorers: Pedro 7′; Giuliano 82′

Right off the bat, the match looked like it was going to be all Flamengo and Pedro put the fans at ease in the seventh minute, sliding his shot past a helpless Cassio.

Flamengo would be on the front foot for most of the first half but couldn’t find the crucial second goal they were searching for, with chance after chance going astray.

Giorgian de Arrascaeta appeared to have doubled the Rubro-Negro’s lead but the goal was ruled out by VAR.

Unfortunately for the home side, they would be met with a ton of resistance as Corinthians enjoyed much of the second-half possession and were a constant attacking threat.

The second-half moments came when Roger missed an absolute sitter that would have been ruled onside if he had scored, while Éverton Ribeiro had a goal of his own rejected by VAR after Flamengo was judged to be offside in the build-up.

Corinthians would eventually score the goal they deserved in the 82nd minute, with Giuliano scoring a beautiful poacher’s effort to send the Corinthians section into a frenzy.

Both clubs would have a chance to win in regulation but would have to settle for the dreaded penalty shootout.

Corinthians would start first and, eventually, Rodinei would win the title in the seventh round after Mateus Vital sent his effort over the crossbar.

Penalty shootout


Fábio Santos ✅

Giuliano ✅

Renato Augusto ✅

Fagner ❌

Yuri Alberto ✅

Maycon ✅

Mateus Vital ❌


Filipe Luís ❌

David Luiz ✅

Léo Pereira ✅

Éverton Ribeiro ✅

Gabigol ✅

Cebolinha ✅

Rodinei ✅