📝 Everything you need to know about the new Championship season


Alex Mott

Article image: 📝 Everything you need to know about the new Championship season

The Championship season kicks off on Friday when Luton Town meet Middlesbrough.

So, ahead of the 2019/20 campaign, here’s everything you need to know.

Who are the title contenders?

Leeds are currently favourites with the bookmakers and will surely bother the top few places.

Cardiff, Fulham and West Brom also look well-placed to go for the title.

So who will occupy the play-off spots come May?

Bristol City are consistently there or thereabouts, Derby will be hoping to continue on last season’s fine form with Philip Cocu now at the helm, Brentford have added some great signings to an already stacked squad.

And an outsider? How about Luton.

Who’s going down?

Neither Barnsley nor Wigan look good enough to stay up and this could finally be the season that Reading wave their goodbyes to the Championship.

Are there any future stars we have to look out for?

Leeds teenager Jack Clarke can prove just why Tottenham splashed out £12m, Hull’s Jarrod Bowen is a brilliantly exciting winger, while Joe Roden at Swansea can be their new Ashley Williams.

Which club has done the best business this summer?

In a division where very few clubs have actually spent any money this summer, it’s Brentford who have really opened their chequebook and signed some real quality for decent amounts of cash.

We can’t wait to see how Christian Nörgaard, Mathias Jensen and Pontus Jansson all get on.

Can you pick out the three best kit for us?

Brentford (H)

The colourway, the badge, the simplicity. It’s glorious.

Charlton (H)

Pinstripes. Enough said.

Huddersfield (H)

Ignore the ‘banter’, this is just a lovely, lovely kit.

And the worst three?

Blackburn (A)

All over the place. And that colour’s shocking too.

Hull (H)

90s nostalgia has gone too far now.


Unlike its west London surrounds, this away shirt just looks cheap.

OK, finally, what about a predicted league table?

  1. West Brom
  2. Leeds
  3. Fulham
  4. Cardiff
  5. Derby
  6. Brentford
  7. Bristol City
  8. Middlesbrough
  9. Luton
  10. Stoke
  11. Huddersfield
  12. Nottingham Forest
  13. Swansea
  14. Preston
  15. Blackburn
  16. Hull
  17. Birmingham
  18. QPR
  19. Millwall
  20. Charlton
  21. Reading
  22. Wigan
  23. Barnsley
  24. Sheffield Wednesday